Your contribution will strengthen existing professorships and begin new ones to train tomorrow’s leaders in diabetic foot care, support faculty research to prevent amputations, answer patients’ unmet needs, and add new patient educational activities that preserve limbs and promote healthier lives.

The Podiatry Division at the University of Texas Health Science Center – San Antonio is a leader in lower extremity amputation prevention. With your generous support, we can become a global leader, not just in diabetic foot care but in patient education regarding the foot. Your gift can help patients with diabetes retain the precious ability to walk on their own two feet.

Please contribute today to help others remain independent and fully ambulatory. You can make a tremendous difference in the lives of thousands of men, women and children who suffer from diabetes-related and other foot disorders.


Louis T. Bogy, DPM, Professorship in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery. The Professorship was established in 1998 to honor Louis T. Bogy, DPM, Chairman Emeritus of the Podiatric surgical residency training program at UTHSC-SA. Dr. Bogy was instrumental in establishing the residency training program, which began in 1972 with one resident. More than 100 residents have graduated since then. Dr. Bogy died on February 9, 2004. The first faculty member to be supported by this Professorship was Lawrence Harkless, DPM from 1999 to 2007.  In 2009, Michael G. Palladino, DPM has been selected to hold this endowed position.


Lee J. Sanders, DPM, Professorship in Lower Extremity Amputation Prevention. The Professorship was established in 2003 to honor Lee J. Sanders, DPM, Chief of Podiatry service, acute care and specialty services at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Lebanon, PA. Dr. Sanders is considered one of the foremost leaders in prevention of lower-extremity amputation in diabetic patients. The purpose of the Professorship would be to support a faculty member in the Podiatry Division of the Orthopaedic Department. In 2008, Thomas Zgonis, DPM has been selected to hold this endowed position.


For more information, please contact:

Crystal L. Ramanujam, DPM, MSc, FACFAS
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Department of Orthopaedics/Podiatry Division - Mail Code 7776
7703 Floyd Curl Drive
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
(210) 567-5130
Email contact: morenov@uthscsa.edu

Other links: Office of External Affairs | Philanthropy | Endowment Management Training