Fellowship Training Programs

Reconstructive | International

Department of Orthopaedics/Division of Podiatry

School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio

Reconstructive Foot and Ankle Surgery Fellowship

Duration:   1 year (July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020)
Application Deadline:   October 2nd, 2018
Stipend:   44,100 / year plus benefits
Location:   University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; University Hospital; Texas Diabetes Institute

Goals and Characteristics:

This fellowship is a one-year experience during which the Fellow will develop a rational approach to revisional and reconstructive foot and ankle surgery. The Fellow will function as a Specialist, participate in the teaching of podiatric medical students and residents, and have ample opportunity to be involved in clinical and basic research projects.


The primary purpose of the fellowship is to provide to the Podiatric Surgeon who has completed a minimum of a three year residency, and who is committed to a part-time/full-time academic career in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery, further expertise in Charcot reconstruction, plastic surgery (diabetic soft tissue reconstruction), trauma and deformity correction. The Fellow is expected to complete two clinical or basic research projects during the year.


For more information go to the following link UT Health Careers to apply for this position (18000180).  Please upload a letter of interest, CV, and 3 letters of recommendation.  Please direct questions to Thomas Zgonis, DPM, FACFAS, Professor, Fellowship Director, Zgonis@uthscsa.edu.


The deadline for the application and all the required information will be October 2nd, 2018.


UT Health San Antonio is an Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative
Action Employer including protected veterans and persons with disabilities.
All facultyappointments are designated as security sensitive positions.




Fellowship Graduation


The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer.


Current Fellows

Residency Program

Shrunjay R. Patel, DPM
St. Vincent Hospital, Indianapolis, IN
Past Fellows Year Residency Program
Alan C. Stuto, DPM
University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
Hani M. Badahdah, DPM, MD, MS
Mercy Hospital, Miami, FL
Daniel J. Short, DPM
DVA — Maryland Healthcare System, MD
Daniel S. Piper, DPM
University Hospitals Regional Hospitals, OH
Oluwatosin "Fatima" Ogunlana, DPM
Our Lady of Lourdes Memorial Hospital, NY
Bradley A. Levitt, DPM
University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
Bryan A. Sagray, DPM
Inova Fairfax Hospital, VA
Zacharia Facaros, DPM
Fountain Valley Regional Hospital, CA
Crystal L. Ramanujam, DPM*
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Claire M. Capobianco, DPM
Swedish Medical Center, Seattle, WA
Ronald Belczyk, DPM
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Krista Kilpadi, MD, PhD *
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Roberto Rodriguez, DPM
UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Luke Jeffries, DPM
University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
John Stapleton, DPM
University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey
* Post Graduate Research Fellowship



UTHSCSA Diabetic Foot Fellowship / Observership

"Multidisciplinary Team Approach on the Treatment of the Diabetic Foot"

Program Description: The fellowship is a 1 to 6 week experience that will allow post graduate physicians/surgeons and physicians/surgeons-in-training from around the world to observe surgical and outpatient treatment methods in an academic health care center. 


Prerequisite Training/Internship Selection Criteria:  Post graduates, residency and/or equivalent education and interest in the treatment of the diabetic foot.


 Application Criteria: Letter of interest, CV, recent photo, 3 recommendation letters and a tuition requirement.


 Visa Requirements: Pending approval of Visiting Physician / Clinician Program in development. 


For more information or to submit an application criteria, please contact:


Thomas Zgonis, DPM, FACFAS

Fellowship Director, Reconstructive Foot and Ankle Surgery

Division of Podiatric Medicine & Surgery

Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

The University of Texas Health Science Center

7703 Floyd Curl Drive, MSC 7776

San Antonio, Texas 78229-3900

Phone: (210) 567-5152

Fax: (210) 567-5153

E-mail: zgonis@uthscsa.edu  


Additional Contact:
Crystal L. Ramanujam, DPM, MSc, FACFAS

Phone: (210) 567-5130

E-mail: Ramanujam@uthscsa.edu


 For more information about visa requirements, please contact:

Diana Salazar, Director

Office of International Services

UT Health Science Center at San Antonio

E-mail: SalazarDR@uthscsa.edu


Past Fellows Year Country
Juan U. Magalong, MD
December 2017
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Saravanakumar Ganesan, MBBS, MS, DA, FPS
March 2017
Madurai, India
Tomasz Biernacki, DPM
January/February 2017
Windsor, Canada
Jeffrey L. Carnett, DPM
January 2016
Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Jose David Garza, MD
July 2015
Monterrey, Mexico
Sharvil S. Gadve, MBBS, MD, DM
February 2014
Mumbai, India
Jorge Ricardo de Souza Lira, MD, MS
February/March 2013
Garanhuns, Brazil
Rodrigo Alcala Duran
January 2013
Reynosa, Mexico
Srinivas Seshabhattaru, MBBS
May 2012
Hyderabad, India
Fernando Vasquez Abrego, DPM, MD
April 2012
Monterrey, Mexico
Luinio Tongson, MD
December 2011
Quezon City, Philippines
Ioannis Ignatiadis, MD, PhD
August 2011
Athens, Greece
Apostolos E. Papalois, PhD
August 2011
Athens, Greece
Rajesh Kesavan, MBBS
January  2009
Chennai, India
Enrico Parino, MD
December 2008
Torino, Italy
Yavuz Kocabey, MD
January 2007
Istanbul, Turkey
Rajeev Kumar Singh, MS
December 2018
Mumbai, India